The Bill “Federal Employee Fair Treatment Act of 2017” Has Passed Senate

Picture of Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin (D)
Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin (D)

Bill Passed: A bill to provide for the compensation of Federal employees affected by lapses in appropriations.

The bill passed the Senate Dec 21, 2018 . It was originally sponsored by (D) Senator Benjamin L. Cardin from MD.

Summary: Federal Employee Fair Treatment Act of 2017 This bill requires federal employees furloughed or required to work during a lapse in appropriations beginning on or after December 22, 2017, to be compensated for the period of the lapse on the earliest date possible after the lapse ends, regardless of scheduled pay dates. Employees required to work during the lapse in appropriations may use leave. The bill addresses a lapse in appropriations scheduled to occur if FY2018 appropriations legislation is not enacted prior to the expiration of the continuing resolution that currently funds federal agencies through December 22, 2017.
This bill mainly relates to these subjects; Appropriations, Government employee pay, benefits, personnel management, Executive agency funding and structure, Employee leave and Government Operations and Politics.

Cosponsored by

  • (D) Sen. Chris Van Hollen from MD
  • (D) Sen. Mazie K. Hirono from HI
  • (D) Sen. Thomas R. Carper from DE
  • (D) Sen. Edward J. Markey from MA
  • (D) Sen. Brian Schatz from HI
  • (D) Sen. Kirsten E. Gillibrand from NY
  • (D) Sen. Margaret Hassan from NH
  • (D) Sen. Jeanne Shaheen from NH
  • (D) Sen. Richard J. Durbin from IL
  • (D) Sen. Mark Warner from VA
  • (D) Sen. Patrick J. Leahy from VT
  • (D) Sen. Tammy Baldwin from WI
  • (D) Sen. Tom Udall from NM
  • (D) Sen. Patty Murray from WA
  • (D) Sen. Sherrod Brown from OH
  • (D) Sen. Richard Blumenthal from CT
  • (I) Sen. Bernard Sanders from VT
  • (D) Sen. Tim Kaine from VA
  • (D) Sen. Elizabeth Warren from MA
  • (D) Sen. Dianne Feinstein from CA
  • (D) Sen. Ron Wyden from OR
  • (D) Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto from NV
  • (D) Sen. Tammy Duckworth from IL
  • (D) Sen. Joe Manchin III from WV
  • (D) Sen. Robert Menendez from NJ
  • (D) Sen. Jack Reed from RI
  • (D) Sen. Martin Heinrich from NM
  • (D) Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse from RI
  • (D) Sen. Michael Bennet from CO
  • (D) Sen. Kamala Harris from CA
  • (R) Sen. Susan Collins from ME


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.